Faculty for the Future 2017 | SLB

Faculty for the Future 2017

Published: 05/12/2017

Schlumberger Oilfield Services

Women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) from emerging and developing countries pursuing post-graduate studies have been selected for Schlumberger Foundation Faculty for the Future fellowships for the 2016-2017 academic year. Out of over 600 applications received, 38 new fellowships were granted and 140 were renewed, showing the commitment of the Foundation to its current grantees and their work while continuing to build the community.

The research focus of this year’s cohort of new Fellows continues to be diverse, with the top three disciplines being engineering, climate and environmental sciences, and chemistry. Most of the research proposals of the new cohort of Fellows are related to challenges their home countries and regions are currently facing, and they are determined to use their scientific knowledge upon their return to solve these issues.

“We continue to be impressed by the quality and drive of the applicants,” says Roseline Chapel, President of the Schlumberger Foundation. “The women scientists selected to join the community this year have the power and determination to make a change in the world through science and hard work. We are looking forward to developing a strong and long lasting relationship as they successfully complete their postgraduate degree and bring back home the power of their skills and determination stimulated by the strength of the Faculty for the Future network to implement this change and inspire girls and women around them to follow their path.”

The fellowships represent the Schlumberger Foundation’s long term investment in a community of highly qualified and recognized role models who are contributing to narrowing the gender gap in STEM disciplines by inspiring more women to study science. Fellowships are awarded based on the applicant’s academic ability, leadership qualities and engagement in outreach activities towards underserved communities with STEM as a development instrument in their home countries. Fellowship recipients have all achieved academic excellence throughout their studies, often despite considerable challenges and traditional barriers to education.

“The selection process is competitive and applicants must meet rigorous selection criteria to become part of this dedicated community of women in STEM,” notes Gerard Martellozo, Chairman of the Schlumberger Foundation. ”We look forward to the success that will crystalize once the grantees have returned to their home countries to apply their knowledge and motivate their peers.”

About Faculty for the Future

The program’s long-term goal is to generate conditions that result in more women pursuing scientific careers by lowering the barriers women face when entering STEM disciplines, thus reducing the gender gap. Faculty for the Future Fellows are expected to return to their home countries after completion of their studies to contribute to economic, social and technological advancement by strengthening the STEM teaching and research faculties of their home institutions, and also to pursue positions in the public sector where their newly acquired technical and scientific skills can help provide evidence-based support for STEM policy making. In so doing, they become powerful role models and help to inspire other girls and women to pursue scientific careers. Since its launch in 2004, 635 women from 81 developing and emerging countries have received Faculty for the Future fellowships to pursue PhD and Post-Doctorate study in STEM. The program also helps build a community for the Fellows through Forums, both online and in person.

About the Schlumberger Foundation

The Schlumberger Foundation is a nonprofit organization that supports science and technology education. Recognizing the link between science, technology, and socio-economic development, as well as the key role of education in realizing individual potential, the Schlumberger Foundation flagship program is Faculty for the Future.